Entrepreneur Of The Year

Well, it was worth the wait. After pausing in 2020 for the pandemic, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year’s Pacific Region program returns for its 27th edition. This time around, the competition honours nine women and men, leading seven companies from a diverse range of industries, who will advance to the national finals in November. If these entrepreneurs have one thing in common, they all saw business grow during COVID-19, thanks to factors such as increased demand for their digital services or the development of new products that helped save lives. We wish them even more success—and best of luck in the next round.

Ray Castelli, Weatherhaven

Catherine Dahl and Reza Sanaie, Beanworks

Carl Hansen, AbCellera Biologics

Judi Hess, Copperleaf Technologies

Darrell Jones, Save-On-Foods

Rizwan Somji, Cymax Group Technologies

Alison Taylor and Trevor Johnston, Jane Software

How the Winners Were Chosen

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is an annual global awards program administered by Ernst & Young (EY). For Canada’s Pacific Region program, EY selects judges from among local business leaders and past program winners. Judges evaluate the nominees based on several factors, including entrepreneurial spirit, value creation, strategic direction, national and global impact, innovation and purpose-driven leadership. These seven Pacific Region winners will compete at the national awards celebration in November, where EY will announce the 10 national winners, including Canada’s EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2021.  Details of the nomination process and judging criteria are available at ey.com/ca/EOY. Nominations are accepted year-round.

The Judges

EOY 2021 Judge Geoff Chutter CEO, WhiteWater West Industries

Geoff Chutter
CEO, WhiteWater West Industries

Jill Earthy  CEO, Women’s Enterprise Centre

Jill Earthy
CEO, Women’s Enterprise Centre

Kristi Miller  Managing partner, Natural Products Canada (NPC) Ventures  Kristi Miller 
Managing partner, Natural Products Canada (NPC) Ventures 
Maria Pacella  Managing partner, Pender-Fund Capital Management  Maria Pacella 
Managing partner, PenderFund Capital Management 
Sacha McLean  Vice-chair, McLean Group  Sacha McLean 
Vice-chair, McLean Group 
Ali Pejman  Managing partner, Fort Capital Partners  Ali Pejman 
Managing partner, Fort Capital Partners
Keith Spencer  Counsel, Fasken Martineau  Keith Spencer 
Counsel, Fasken Martineau