Every year since 1994, BCBusiness has partnered with Ernst & Young (EY) to produce the definitive look at entrepreneurship in British Columbia. The EY Entrepreneur of the Year program honours the very best in our business world—the risk-takers and game-changers whose visionary leadership and exemplary performance put them a step above the rest. Below, you’ll meet the 30 entrepreneurs who made the cut this year—including the 10 category winners and our overall Pacific Region winner



Stemcell Technologies Inc.

Dr. Allen Eaves (Pacific Region Overall Winner)
President and CEO, Stemcell Technologies Inc.

Bhawnesh Mathur + Geoff Reed
CEO + Chair, Creation Technologies

Geoff Chutter
CEO and President, WhiteWater West Industries Ltd.



Canada Drives

Cody Green
Founder and Co-CEO, Canada Drives

David Gens
Founder, President and CEO, Merchant Advance Capital Ltd.

Hamed Shahbazi
CEO, Tio Networks Corp.




Roger Hardy + Sean Clark
CEO + CTO, Shoes.com

Trent Shumay + Ryan Peterson
CTO + CEO, Finger Food Studios

Lance Priebe
CEO, Hyper Hippo Productions Ltd.



Plenary Group (Canada) Ltd.

Paul Dunstan
President, Plenary Group (Canada) Ltd.

Jonathan Whitworth + Kyle Washington
CEO + Executive Chairman, Seaspan ULC

Jeff Stibbard
CEO, JDS Energy & Mining



Buyatab Online Inc.

Matias Marquez
Founder and COO, Buyatab Online Inc.

Johann Starke
President and CEO, FCV Interactive

Morgan Carey
CEO, Real Estate Webmasters



Jacob Bros. Construction Inc.

Todd, Scott + Jason Jacob
Principals, Jacob Bros. Construction Inc.

Ken Mayhew
Owner and President, Penfolds Roofing and Solar Inc.

William (Bill) Downing
President, Structurlam Products Inc.



Saje Natural Business Inc.

Kate Ross LeBlanc + Jean-Pierre LeBlanc
CEO and Co-Founder + Chair and Co-Founder, Saje Natural Business Inc.

John Neate
CEO and Founder, JJ Bean Inc.

Daniel Frankel
Founder and CEO, Tap & Barrel Brands Ltd.



Fluxwerx Illumination Inc.

Tim Berman
President and Founder, Fluxwerx Illumination Inc.

Casey O’Neill
Founder and CEO, Cypress Solutions Inc.

Philip Vanderpol
President and Founder, Vitalus Nutrition Inc.



Nurse Next Door

Ken Sim + Cathy Thorpe + John DeHart
Co-founder + President and CEO + Co-founder, Nurse Next Door

Zeeshan + Karina Hayat
CEO + President, Prizm Media Inc.

Cameron Fleming + Robert Boscacci
Directors, HME Mobility and Accessibility



Kicking Horse Coffee

Elana Rosenfeld
CEO, Kicking Horse Coffee

Ian Walker
Founder and Owner, Left Coast Naturals

Ray Russell
Founder and Owner, Fresh Slice


The EY Entrepreneur of the Year is an annual global awards program administered by Ernst & Young (EY). Canada’s Pacific Region competition is overseen by the Ernst & Young LLP Vancouver office, which selects judges from among business leaders and past EOY winners. Judges look for a number of factors, including vision, leadership, financial performance and social responsibility. The Pacific Region winner is among five regional winners for Canada’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year; the Canadian winner advances to an annual competition for World Entrepreneur of the Year from among 60 country winners, each year held in Monte Carlo. Details of the nomination process and judging criteria are available online. Nominations are accepted year-round.

2016 Pacific Region judges
Ryan Beedie, President, Beedie Group
Charles Chang, President + Founder, Lyra Growth Partners
Ashley Cooper, President, Paladin Security
Christine Cooper, Corporate Finance Head, BMO Bank of Montreal
Debra Hewson, President, Odlum Brown
Shannon Rogers, President, Global Relay Communications Inc.
Lisa Shields, Founder + CEO, FI.SPAN
Bill Tam, President, BC Technology Industry Association