B.C. restaurant industry celebrates its latest stars

The BC Restaurant and Food Services Association has announced the 2018 inductees to the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame.

Credit: Courtesy of BCRFA

2018 additions to BC Restaurant Hall of Fame announced

The BC Restaurant and Food Services Association has announced the 2018 inductees to the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame. Current hall of famers include Hy and David Aisenstat, Vikram Vij, Warren Erhart, Umberto Menghi and John Bishop. The induction gala is October 1 at the Italian Cultural Centre in Vancouver.

The latest inductees are:

ACTIVE RESTAURATEUR: Celebrates exceptional restaurateurs working in the B.C. restaurant industry.
Robert Belcham, Campagnolo/Campagnolo Roma/Monarch Burger/Popina Canteen
Chris Mills and Geoff Boyd, Joey Restaurant Group

PIONEER: Recognizes B.C. restaurant industry leaders for their contribution over the length of their career, and who are retired from daily operations.
Nick and Pauline Felicella, Nick’s Spaghetti House

LOCAL CHAMPION: Individual who is a leader in supporting local B.C. food and beverage through all facets of their career. They make their restaurant a special experience because of the ingredients they select, the farmers they work with and the pride of place that is celebrated through their creations.
Andrea Carlson, Burdock & Co./Harvest Community Foods

THE INDUSTRY AWARD: Individual who is or has been a chef, server, manager or bartender and who has demonstrated exceptional professionalism working in the restaurant industry. This person is recognized for making their restaurant a special experience for customers.
Stephanie Jaeger: The Pear Tree Restaurant

LEADING EMPLOYER: An active restaurateur who is a leader in increasing the visibility and profile of careers in restaurants. Recognized for creating a workplace that is welcoming, treats employees with the utmost respect and fosters an environment for recognition and growth.
Eva Gates, Sequoia Company of Restaurants

FRIEND OF THE INDUSTRY: An individual who has provided exceptional support to the restaurant industry as a supplier, educator, reporter or politician.
Sandra Oldfield, Elysian Projects

SUPPLIER AWARD: Celebrates an individual who, through their work as a supplier partner, has made a contribution to hospitality in B.C.
Allison Spurrell, Les Amis du Fromage