Champion For Change Award 2012

Champion for Change Award 2012 Pan Pacific Hotel December 11, 2012

Inaugral Champion For Change winner Dr. Elizabeth Bryce (l), Regional Medical Director for Infection Control, Vancouver Coastal Health, with Carolyn Cross, Ondine Biomedical Inc.. Carolyn created the biotechnology platform championed by Dr. Bryce.

From left: Barbara Mowat, president at Impact!Communications, co-founder and CEO of GroYourBiz, and chair of WPO Vancouver Chapters I & II; Darby Honeyman, owner of Burnaby Heights Physiotherapy Clinic; Leslie Meingast, president and CEO at The Person

Diane McCurdy (l) of McCurdy Financial with Marla Kott, CEO of ImprintPlus.

Brittany Manulak (l), principal at Concept Plumbing & Gas Ltd., with Diane Dupuis of Dupuis Langen Financial Services. Barbara is part of the award nominating commitee,

Hanne Madsen (l) of GroYourBiz Kamloops Chapter andmember of the Diversity 50 (D50) by the Canadian Board Diversity Council (CBDC), with Joanne Gassman, senior vice president of BMO B.C. and Yukon. BMO is the national sponsor for WPO.

Tracy Dueck (l) of Tracycakes Bakery Cafe with Heather Angel, managing director at Trumps Food Interest Ltd.

From left: Susan Payment, partner at Meyers Norris Penny; Diana Barkley of The Barkley Group; and Margaret Ramsdale, president and CEO at Omega Uniform.

Kenda Haga (l), creative director at Editor Agency with Sharon Norris, CEO at Voce Enterprise Ltd.

Award nominating committee members, from left: Michelle Pockey, partner at Fasken Martineau Du Moulin; Carolyn Cross, chairman and CEO at Ondine Biomedical Inc.; Rita Cheng, general manager at Superior Tofu; Eva Sun, owner of Libra National Inc.

From left: Margaret Cowan of Mama Margaret & Friends, Amanda Rak of the Artona Group Inc., and Sherrin Western, owner of Shervin Communications.

From left: Shelina Neallini, family lawyer/mediator; Joanna Lovett, jewelry designer; Renee Safrata of Reneevations; and Julie Duquette of Dirty Girl Uniforms.

From left: Cheryl Dawn, president of; Tomoko Shimada, founder and CEO/president of; Deborah Siu, restaurateur/owner of Memphis Blues BBQ House; and Patra de Silva, owner/founder of NHV Natural Pet Products.

Champion for Change Award 2012
Pan Pacific Hotel
December 11, 2012

In an intimate holiday gathering at the Pan Pacific Hotel, the two Vancouver chapters of the Women Presidents’ Organization (WPO) and GroYourBiz awarded their first-ever Champion For Change Award to Dr. Elizabeth Bryce. Dr. Bryce was the championing force in getting MRSAid, a surgical infection control platform created by Vancouver-born Ondine Biomedical Inc., into the rigorous testing grounds of Vancouver General Hospital. Her leadership resulted in ground-breaking study research from Vancouver Coastal Health.

Dr. Bryce celebrated her surprise win with the likes of Laura Hansen of Image Group (Best Places to Work in North America by Counselor magazine, Profit magazine’s W100), Sarah White of Fairware Promotional Products (RBC 2012 Canadian Woman Entrepreneur Award finalist, Profit magazine’s W100), Marla Kott of ImprintPlus (BMO 2012 Global Growth Award), and Eva Sun of Libra National Inc./The Rice People (Star Woman Award from The Canadian Grocer, Business Leader of the Year from Richmond Chamber of Commerce). This is a B.C.-only award, and the nominating committee was led by WPO chapter chair Barbara Mowat of Impact!Communications.

Congratulations to Dr. Bryce and to the WPO for their successful inaugral launch of the Champion For Change Award.