How the Winners Are Chosen

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year is an annual global competition administered by Ernst & Young (EY). Canada’s Pacific Region competition is overseen by the Ernst & Young LLP Vancouver office, which selects judges from among business leaders and past EOY winners. Judges look for a number of factors, including vision, leadership, financial performance and social responsibility. The Pacific Region winner is among five finalists for Canada’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year; the Canadian winner advances to the World Entrepreneur of the Year with 50 country finalists, this year held in Monte Carlo. Details of the nomination process and judging criteria are available at

2014 Pacific Region Judges

Robert Beattie

Managing director

BMO Bank of Montreal

Fred Davidson

President and CEO Energold Drilling Corp.

Donald McInnes

Executive vice-chair

Alterra Power Corp.

Joyce Groote

CEO, Crossing Sectors Inc.

Shannon Rogers

President and general counsel Global Relay Communications Inc.

Steve Swaffield

Commercial adviser, BG Group

Past Winners

 Glenn Johnson, 2013

Endurance Wind Power Inc.

Ashley Cooper, 2012

Paladin Security Group Ltd.

Robert Little, 2011

FPI Fireplace Products

International Ltd.

Chad Wasilenkoff, 2010

Fortress Paper Ltd.

Ryan Beedie, 2009

The Beedie Group

Brian Hill, 2008

Aritzia LP

Lukas Lundin, 2007

The Lundin Group of Companies

Art Aylesworth, 2006

Carmanah Technologies Corp.

Ian Telfer, 2005

Goldcorp Inc.